BRMC get their rocks off

Standard

 brmc-088.jpg

Holy.

Moly. 

Black Rebel Motorcycle Club rolled into town last night and ripped us all to shreds.  Just how I like it! 

Ive been trying to think of the best way to describe the show all day.  This is the third time I’ve seen them and they continue to play harder each time.

I was impressed with this show for a number of reasons.  The number one reason being that I just saw them in May right after Baby 81 was released and most bands (even the best of them) show signs of wear after touring that long.  Nope, no wear last night.  Their setlist was mixed up, too.  Most of the setlists I’ve seen even recently still start out with the 1-2 punch of “Took Out A Loan” and “Berlin” – they mixed it up nicely which was an added bonus.

But what blew me away was the dominant shoe-gaze display.  Since I don’t have a copy of the full setlist I’m just guessing, but at the very least the first 1/3 (but I’m thinking it was really a solid half) of their set was like being at a Jesus & Mary Chain show back in the day…only with more talented musicians.  (Don’t tell Jim, ok?)  One song in particular was just like pure JAMC surging through my veins.  Now I like anything these guys do, but it felt like an extra treat to get to hear that sound put to their own great songwriting.  You won’t hear me complain if the next time I see them the majority of their sound has that Johnny Cash vibe.  What gets me is how vastly different the shows were in that 5-month time period on the same tour.  Totally sweet.

Then there is the musicianship.  I noticed Nick’s drumming more at this show than before.  Not really sure why because you know I’m spending my time watching Peter’s every move.  There are a couple of songs that I just enjoy watching his chord changes.  I don’t know what it is.  But all three of them rock.  Oh, and they were back to a 3-piece for this series of dates before they go overseas.  That could have impacted the difference in sound.  Who knows.  Who cares.

What a show.  I swear that at some point there was a vortex that brought together every bit of rock and roll left in the world and delivered it at the feet of BRMC. 

One response »

Leave a Reply

