Laid back – SoCal style

Standard

Anyone else a little groggy after a nice, long holiday weekend?  I’ll try to get back in the swing.  In the meantime I want to share a blog with you that celebrates West Coast/California musicians from the 70s and 80s (and I guess 90s).  Growing up I was into checking out what session players played on what albums.  Learned quite a bit about Jazz along the way by doing so.  There was a ‘community’ of players that often played on one another’s albums.

This blog keeps up on what those musicians are up to now – both the headliners, singer/songwriters and session musicians.  You’re bound to find names you have totally forgotten about.  It’s sort of a ‘blast from the past’ for me to see some of my favs written about (like my beloved Doobie Brothers). 

I haven’t been to the blog in probably 6 months to a year and don’t remember seeing “France” in the name of the blog before.  Nonetheless it was great to see a few names I hadn’t heard about in a long time:  Richard Page (Mr. Mister), Don Barnes (.38 Special – love the quality of his voice….always thought he could do better, but it was the 80s afterall), and Marcus Miller (played bass for dozens and dozens of artists).

I also saw a name of a band/artist I discovered on a Santa Barbara trip, Spencer the Gardner.  What a treat.  Funky stylings & funny lyrics.  Would have loved to seen them in concert sometime.  But upon reading that Spencer is still out there I’ve added him to my MySpace friends!

2 responses »

  1. I’ve known Spencer since the early 80s in a band called the Tan. Recently I went to the last concert in the park where Spencer played. I went and bought two cds and haven’t played anything else. He’s so upbeat and his music always puts a smile on my face. It’s the best!

Leave a Reply

