Let’s Celebrate: St. Andrews Day

Standard

In honor of this Scottish celebration…let us not forget to rock out.  Here are a few videos that have special meaning to me and each band has roots in Scotland.

1.  Gun – “Shame on You”   First band up is Gun.  A big stadium band in the 80s/90s.  They broke through in the US with “Better Days” – this particular video gives you a feel of their stadium days.  They wrote a lot of fantastic songs.  Funny enough when I saw them they played a Metallica cover…and sounded just as heavy.  It was a treat.  One of the Gizzi’s is now the lead singer in El Presidente (another Scottish band that rocks). 

2.  Shamen – “Ebeneezer Goode”   I fell head over heels with the Shamen during the European dance era of the early 90s.  I will never forget just being entranced by MTV Europe when I visited while this was the trend…such fun music (even though it was a bit forgettable).

3.  Simple Minds – “See The Lights”  I have a ton of SMinds stories, but I’ll leave you with this.  There is more than one reason that Jim Kerr has always done so well with the ladies.  There are a lot of things I like about this band and this video displays many of them:  it makes me think of the Scottish countryside, the sound of Charlie’s guitar, and watching Jim’s dramatics always puts a smile on my face.

4.  Primal Scream – “Jailbird” (live)  Primal Scream are at their best live;  I hope I can experience that once before I die.  No list would be complete without their inclusion.

Leave a Reply

