Year in Review – my favs

Standard

My ‘best of 2007’ list is really an outline of what I’ve enjoyed most this year…and not just in music.

Favorite Songs

  • Berlin” by BRMC
  • You! Me! Dancing!” by Los Campesinos!
  • I Found Out” by The Pigeon Detectives
  • “Fortune Teller” by Plant/Krauss
  • “She Moves in Her Own Way” by The Kooks (I thought this came out last year, but this must have been out as a single because I’ve heard it so much)
  • More mainstream:  “Think I’m in Love” by Beck and “The Sweet Escape” by Gwen Stefani

Favorite b-movies (ok, if you know me…these are no-brainers)

  • Resident Evil: Extinction
  • Hot Fuzz
  • 28 Weeks Later

Favorite concert

br101.jpg

  • BRMC.  period.  They rolled through Lawrence twice this year, but that second show was literally mind-blowing.  One that makes you think they could never be better.  Peter Hayes has quickly become my favorite musician.  There’s no one I’d rather hear play.  Definitely one of my top 5 concerts of all-time!

Favorite website discovery:

  • popgadget – I love tech gadgets that help to make my life easier, smarter and more fun!

Favorite CDs:

  • BRMC – Baby 81 (I’m not known for liking mellow tracks, but I even like the slower songs on this album!)
  • Dinosaur Jr – Beyond (after a long absence they come back with some of their best music eva)
  • Emma Pollock – Watching the Fireworks (my Scottish selection for the year – this is a mesmerizing disc)

Biggest pop culture thrill that lived up to the hype

  • The Led Zep reunion, of course.  Seeing vid of “Kashmir” gave me chills.

Person I’m most jealous of this year:

  • Alison Krauss – she made a stellar album with one of my heroes…and she convinced him to branch out of his comfort zone. 
Leave a Reply

