Local Radio musings

Standard

radio_ky.jpg Last week Kansas City radio suffered the loss of an institution, KYYS.   It’s not something I listened to everyday because I don’t listen to terrestrial radio much (maybe 30 min. a week in the car).  

KY first aired in 1974 so I don’t remember being without it.  Through Jr. High and early HS I listened to their morning show getting ready for school – one of the jocks (Max) remained as half of the morning team until this format change that was announced last Friday.

After college I moved down to Kansas City and within a year or so knew a few people that worked at that station and the sister country station, WDAF.  Good people.  And I think what drew me to broadcasting in the first place was equally the music and the people.  Even when the hammer started to hit and playlists started to become meaningless there were still some trusted DJs out there that made it seem like you had a connection of some kind.

I admire the few folks I know that are still plugging along in radio – Valorie in the Northeast and Jeff down in Arkansas.  More power to ya!

We’ve lost that personal touch that DJs gave to music.  Sure listening to CDs, mp3s or satellite radio is fantastic, but the connection isn’t there.

You know what they put in KY’s place?  Something called “The Boulevard” format (aka adult alternative or whatever they’re calling it.)  Why won’t someone grow the balls to truly do something ‘alternative’?  We now have 1 classic rock station, 1 (lame) rock station and 1 alternative station (which is SO bad that I’d rather listen to the rock stations if that tells you anyting).  I can’t even tell you how many “adult” stations we have, but I know there were already more than 2 before The Boulevard came along.

from RadioInsight 

Entercom Kansas City Program Director Greg Bergen added, “Our newest format is all about the revitalization of a legendary music genre. Kansas City listeners with a penchant for classic hits, but who demand a fresher, more contemporary delivery, are guaranteed to find their radio home with 99.7 The Boulevard.”

Sample of music aired:

U2 – Beautiful Day
Steely Dan – Hey Nineteen
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers – Refugee
Elton John – Madman Across The Water
The Wallflowers – One Headlight
Cream – Sunshine Of Your Love
Steve Winwood – While You See A Chance
Bruce Springsteen – Blinded By The Light
R.E.M. – Losing My Religion
The Eagles – One Of These Nights
The Clash – Train In Vain

*sigh* – see anything ‘revitalized’ in that list?

Just one more reason not to listen to local (large market) radio.  Thankfully there are still some smaller markets in our surrounding area that still have a bit of character and personality left.

3 responses »

  1. Friday was a VERY, VERY sad day in Kansas City….

    Too bad for them that they don’t value us 30-40 somethings that MIGHT have supported their income!

    Life will not be the same w/o KY. It was hard the 1st time the industry pulled this and deleted 102 from my dial, now they have messed up again and I will never listen to 99.7 again either.

    Long live REAL rock and roll, and live music in Kansas City.

  2. I don’t know. I don’t think that the buzz is that horrible. It’s not something I really ever listen to, but the few times that I have heard it in the car it has been tolerable. Maybe I would feel differently if I listened to it every day, but it seems that a few good things are actually getting through. I’ve heard that Sonic Spectrum is now airing Saturday nights on the buzz. I’ve been meaning to catch that, but I keep forgetting about it. I ain’t much of a radio listener. I got WOXY!

    By the way, you should share some of your blog posts on the email list. Or at least let the others know that you have a blog.

  3. Itsexpressions, thanks for stopping by…I know how ya feel.

    Jeff – I rarely listen outside of rush hour to and from work, but 90% of the time the Buzz is playing something like Foo Fighters, Live, Nirvana, etc. I’ve heard those a million times!

    Plus I compare all ‘alternative’ stations to KLZR when it was a modern rock station back in the 90s – the perfect station, IMO. The Classic rock format, on the other hand, is pretty difficult to screw up. 😉

    Thankfully we have internet radio!

Leave a Reply

