The Trews prove rock still exists

Standard

trews01.jpg

As I rummage the net for music news and information I will occasionally come across something new (at least to me) that I can’t put down.  They are the surprises that you weren’t expecting –  great tracks or albums you want to play over and over again.

The Trews are my latest find.  Folks who have known me a long time know that I am partial to my rock and roll.  It’s what I was brought up on.  I just don’t think there has been more than a handful of good rock releases over the past decade.  Argue that statement all you want, but I find listening to rock radio to be a chore and you won’t be able to convince me otherwise.  This Canadian band strikes the right chord with me. 

Their sound is straight ahead rock.  I don’t hear any gimmicks.  They aren’t trying to sound like Linkin Park or play guitar like Slash.  There is a quality to the lead singer’s voice that reminds me of Chris Cornell with Audioslave, but it’s more about the power behind his voice than his sound.

This morning I dug around and found some links and info on the band.  They’ve had six Top 10 Canadian singles and their new album, No Time For Later, is their third full length.  It’s just been released in Canada and their last album can be found on CDbaby.com.  They’ll be touring the U.S. with Ace Frehley – so you might have the opportunity to check them out live.

Here are some other links if you’re so inclined:

Leave a Reply

