The ‘Mainstream’

Standard

Saturday night I attended a friend’s birthday party and we had the radio going in the background.  It’s pretty rare that I listen to traditional radio (if I do it’s never Top 40 or Country) so I didn’t even pay attention to it.

I guess at some point the latest Madonna track was played.  Rose said it was the track with Justin Timberlake & asked if I’d heard it.  Nope. Nada. Zilch.  I have no desire to hear it either.  Now a couple of years ago I would give her latest a listen to check it out.  There were some good tracks on Ray of Light.

I’m not sure if it’s the fact that JT (not one of my favs) is associated with it or whether I’m just so far removed from Top 40 and the ‘mainstream’ that I don’t care.  So from one mainstream to another, Rolling Stone has a preview of Spring albums – since they make you page through it, I’ll post a few of the highlights here where you can sample some of the tunes.

Mudcrutch – Petty’s pre-Heartbreakers band.  New tunes, but I think if you like Petty, you like him with any lineup.  (avail 4/29)

Steve Winwood – new material in time to open for Petty; pretty convenient, huh?  Again, you probably either like Winwood’s style or you don’t. (Nine Lives avail. 4/29)

Tokyo Police Club – will their follow-up be just as good?  (Elephant Shell is out 4/22)

Portishead – finally we’ll get new material from these guys.  No sample or preview on RS though!  (Third will be out 4/29)

Al Green – smooth, new material with some additional vocals from folks such as John Legend and Corinne Bailey Rae.  (Lay It Down comes out 5/27).

Barenaked Ladies – They’re back?  Who knew?  (Snack Time will be out 5/6)

No Age – switching to Sub Pop, the band delivers another raucous set (Nouns will be released 5/6)

Jakob Dylan – going solo – I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, but this track wasn’t what I expected. (Seeing Things comes out 6/10)

Alejandro Escovedo – hard-driving album produced by Tony Visconti – really like the preview track! (Real Animal is out 6/24)

Also coming:  Cure (June 3), Wolf Parade (June 17), The Hold Steady (July), and in August we’ll be treated to new material from Ben Folds and The Walkmen

Leave a Reply

