Note on the Grammys

Standard

This is the first Grammy show I’ve watched in years – at some point I just gave up. Some years I would tune in between another show or just catch highlights on the net afterwards. But this year I was excited to see some of the performances (no, NOT U2).

What I find interesting is no one has mentioned the number of UK artists getting awards, nominated and/or performing. That surely contributes to the fact that I made it all the way through the program. Let’s put it another way…if you took all the UK (and Irish) artists out of the equation you had a handful of ‘ok’ performances.

Too bad the Grammy folks took down the video of Radiohead performing “15 Step” with the aid of the USC Marching Trojans. That was a truly brilliant performance.

One response »

  1. I felt completely the same way about the Grammys. This was the first year in a while that I actually watched them. I was disappointed by U2, as much as I love them, but I guess there wasn’t much of a thread left for me since Atomic Bomb. One of the most interesting things for me though was that there wasn’t much promo for the Radiohead performance. Throughout the show Jonas Brothers, Timberlake, Lil Wayne, all these guys got the PR which wasn’t surprising at all. None of them delivered a true live performance worth noting. Another thing came with artists like Adele, winning Best New Artist, and Robert Plant/Alison Krauss winning 4 of the biggest awards of the night. This seems daunting to all these rap and mainstream artist who keep giving back the same mundane, unearthing music. With more and more indie artist’ being publicized there is more recognition and accolades being given where they are deserved.

Leave a Reply

