Who is Mayer Hawthorne?

Standard

Short answer:  an artist worth checking out.

I hadn’t felt like I had anything to blog about the last few months.  In my last post I asked for new music recommendations and Steve (Teenage Rock Opera) kindly referred me to Mayer Hawthorne. 

What does he sound like?  Ultra-smooth vocals and sweet melodies in posh soul trimmings.  Yeah, think Motown, but I’d get even more detailed and say he’s somewhere between the 60’s hook-laden sounds and the more mature 70’s soul.  Hawethorne is solid listening.  Check him out via WXPN’s  World Cafe.

Leave a Reply

