ho-hum

Standard

New Charlatans single, “Love is Ending”

Boy.  Pretty dull if you ask me.  I haven’t been a fan of the last few records and it’s getting more difficult to even give them a listen.  Not quite as bad as my buddy who used to be a Smashing Pumpkins fan and now feels embarrassed to even preview a new track, but I will say these days it’s a chore.

Tim had said they explained to this album’s producer, Youth, they wanted a sound of a “European Winter.”  Um, yeah.  I’m not hearing too much difference from their signature sound.  And then I made a mistake of reading a review touting the single is “packed with edgy riffs and a chorus you’ll be struggling not to sing along to.”  Really?

And let’s talk about the video.  What two things don’t go together?  Maybe this song and a ballet dancer!  At least separate the band and show exaggerated silhouettes while she dances in front to create an illusion.  This looks shoddily thrown together.

Just not the same without Rob.  😦  THIS is how I want to remember the Charlies:

3 responses »

  1. I’ve had a hard time with anything since Wonderland, but really Us and Us Only (one of my favs from the 90’s.) Still, I’d rather they still be out there and maybe one day catch the old fire again.

  2. You’re right – it’s great they are still out there and playing. Still put on a good show from what I understand. I just haven’t heard anything that sticks with me (except maybe the single “You Cross My Path”) since 2000. I think Rob was the center of the band for me.

Leave a Reply

