February 3rd – the day the music died

Standard

Lately I’ve been getting excited about some rock and roll books and biographies.  A friend reminded me that today is the anniversary of Buddy Holly’s tragic plane crash.  So, of course, I search Google news to see what’s being written about the event this week.  And what do I come across but an article featuring a new Buddy Holly book.  The Chicago Sun-Times reviewed a book by Illinois author, Gary W. Moore, Hey Buddy: In Pursuit of Buddy Holly, My New Buddy John and My Lost Decade of Music.

And just as the author hadn’t been interested in Holly before last year, I wasn’t exactly interested in reading a Holly-related book.  That is, until I read the backstory.  The author explains taking his mother-in-law to a Buddy Holly impersonator show in Cedar Falls, Iowa, and how the story actually came to him.  It’s makes for a great read even if you decide the book isn’t for you [click here].  I think I’ll add this to my growing list (below).  If you have read any recent rock stories, feel free to recommend them.  And put on some Ritchie Valens, Big Bopper or Holly music today if you have time!

Rock ‘n’ roll book list:

  • Soul Mining – Daniel Lanois
  • Route 19 Revisited – The Clash
  • A Very Irregular Head – Syd Barrett
  • Life – Keith Richards
  • A Riot Of Our Own – The Clash
  • The Hacienda – Peter Hook
  • Just Kids – Patti Smith
Leave a Reply

